Hall of Fame 2017

The Strategic Air Command and Aerospace Museum
Hall of Fame Ceremony Set for Armed Forces Day

ASHLAND, NE (April 11, 2017) – The Strategic Air Command and Aerospace Museum’s annual Hall of Fame event will take place on Armed Forces Day, Saturday May 20, 2017. The Hall of Fame luncheon, held from 11:30 a.m. to 1 p.m., exists to recognize, honor, and memorialize individuals or organizations that made significant, impactful, and enduring contributions to the museum and to Strategic Air Command (SAC) and its mission during the Cold War era.

Nominees for the SAC Hall of Fame demonstrate a significant impact in service to SAC or to its mission, beyond long-term military or civilian service. Indications of meeting the criteria would include, but are not limited to, some combination of senior SAC Leadership, SAG Service, or participation in SAC missions. The SAC Fellow Selection Committee, consisting of six community leaders knowledgeable about military and SAC history, are responsible for recommending nominees to the SAC Aerospace Museum Board of Directors.  It is the responsibility of the committee chair to initiate and carry out this process.

The 2017 SAC Hall of Fame inductees are Mr. Michael Davis (Ret.), CIA, Gen. Russell E. Dougherty (Dec.), USAF, Gen. Larry D. Welch (Ret.), USAF, and Mr. Ed Wells (Dec.).

The Museum also recognizes contributions made by individuals who support and further the museum’s mission. Inductees into the Museum Hall of Fame are Mr. Bruce C. Rohde (Ret.), Capt. Lee Seemann (Dec.), USAF, and Mr. Clarence L. Werner.

The luncheon is open to the public and registration is required by May 10, 2017.  Guests may register on the museum’s website at www.SACMuseum.org or by calling the office at 402-944-3100 x253.  The luncheon cost is $50.00 per individual, which includes admission into the museum the Courage from Above: Strategic Bombers of WWII exhibit opening and presentation, immediately following the Hall of Fame presentations.